Memoria Merrilyn

me'n'mez 66

It is 21 years ago today since my sister Merrilyn died. She was 27, a bright, creative woman, an artist who loved animals and birds of all sorts. She died 5 weeks after her husband, Den, who died on their first, and only, wedding anniversary.
me'n'mez '69

I was eight and a half when she was born, the surprise extra child, making four of us, two boys, two girls. She was not yet ten when I got married, and , consequently, left home. I was just getting to know her as an adult when she, and Den, became ill, in the late eighties. A lot of people had become ill in the late eighties. It was the time of the Grim Reaper ads on TV.mez

At the time, HIV/AIDS was thought of as a disease of gay men (probably from San Francisco) and intravenous drug users.  It was not a disease of fairly ordinary heterosexuals from country Victoria. Or so we imagined.

Talk about the passion.

Den wanted to go public with their story, to make people aware of the possibility of heterosexual transmission of the AIDS virus, but he was too unwell, and died before it could happen.

The image above is of the quilt I made some years ago as a kind of memorial. There are three poems written on the back of it.

Birthday Obituary

I remember the pink and white bundle behind the glass,

I remember my sister at my mother’s breast;

I remember the last time I saw her, too.

Her head, bald from chemo, tied with a scarf;

Her dangly earrings, her grey goose eyes

That were almost empty,

But she squeezed my hand

As I drank her face for the last time here.

I remember the first time I saw her, and the last;

And in all the years since she left

I have learned to miss her less.

But I have only dreamed of her once,

When we climbed a hill together

And planned to cook a meal.

quilt detail

Missing Mez

I don’t see you any more

But in my thoughts

You are not so far away;

In many ways

you are nearer than before;

But I still miss you.

Remember

I’m glad that you were born,

I’m sorry that you’re gone;

Your life enriched

So many other lives,

And people don’t forget

That you have been here.

You might have done

So many other things,

Enriched more lives,

Enlightened other minds,

If you had stayed here.

But God reclaimed you

Although you were so young:

I’m sorry that you’re gone,

But I’m glad that I

Remember you.

quilt detail 2

The quilt was completed on the 12th of May 2000. I have dreamed of her again, though not often.

She never heard that Kurt Cobain quote -he must have said it after she died – but she would have wholeheartedly endorsed it if she had.

So it’s on her quilt, along with a lot of colour, and some beautiful fabric she’d bought to make a skirt and didn’t get the chance to finish.

“Death is not extinguishing the light:”

wrote Rabindranath Tagore,

“it is only putting out the lamp

because the dawn has come.”

I just read this essay by a boy from Belarus – maybe you’ll like it too-

http://www.goipeace.or.jp/english/activities/programs/2012/winners/winner_c01.html

illumination on illumination

LanternThe first photo of my Weekly Photo Challenge: Illumination, is a close-up of this little paper lantern, more strongly lit from within. I more or less followed the instructions in the November/December issue of Cloth Paper Scissors (clothpaperscissors.com). Since I read the instructions, made a start, and then didn’t look back at said instructions until I’d nearly finished, mine is definitely my own version!lantern 2

It is made from one sheet of paper, folded and with a slit in the middle, and with four windows cut out and covered with something translucent. Decorate as desired, and put a light inside – battery tea-light recommended – although I guess you’d be safe with a small candle inside a glass votive cup – just don’t leave it unattended.

lantern 3If one used red paper and decorated with hearts etc, it would make a sweet valentine for someone, don’t you think?