Weekly Photography Challenge: Nostalgia – In The Pines

negs-set-2csAs I was walking my daughter’s dog last week, I wandered over to a stand of pines, picked a sprig and sniffed it _”Ah, Pine tree!”, and, to my surprise, immediately burst into tears. When I was little, my Dad spent his days slicing pine logs into boards, and that smell both brought him to life and reminded me that he died recently. So, the weekly photography challenge theme is “Nostalgia”, and my answer is “In the pines”.

Monterey pines were widely planted (in plantations) in Victoria in the fifties, and there was a plantation near home – The Piney, or “Plan pinetation”, as my little brother called it. The trees were cut down (harvested) by the Forest Commission , and then Dad would go out and collect his logs, using the old Blitz crane.s

I didn’t take this photo – it’s about as old as I am. Mum gave me some old negatives, because I was looking for old photos of Dad’s Commer truck. I didn’t have a proper film scanner, but thought it was worth trying the ordinary flatbed scanner and found it worked fairly well, so long as the images weren’t too light (meaning the negs are dark). I recently did some editing of the image, as I’d decided to have it printed on canvas, as a memento of Dad.

Canberra is blessed with many walking tracks, and the one near my daughter’s home passes through a ‘tunnel’ of pine trees. I took the camera for a walk to them, for these nostalgic pine tree images. They bring back memories of a day when Dad took several kids, including two boys who were vising my aunt, and we all spent the day out in the pines playing while Dad collected his logs. I remember beating out primitive rhythms on a granite tor with thick pine sticks, and flattening one of the visiting boys with a rugby tackle. I guess I was about 11. In retrospect, it wasn’t an ideal childcare arrangement, but we all survived, even that unfortunate boy…

And here’s a little more nostalgia…aka In The Pines.

4 thoughts on “Weekly Photography Challenge: Nostalgia – In The Pines

  1. Pingback: Nostalgia: Paris 2 | What's (in) the picture?

  2. Hi, It’s amazing what can trigger a powerful memory and smell can be a great trigger. A lot of stands of pines are being cut down locally – the old school pine plantation in Chewton, around the church in Elphinstone , and the local reservoirs – mainly for reasons of public safety reducing fire hazards or the trees becoming too old. The pines in the Malmsbury Botanic Gardens remain unscathed.

    Like

    • A lot of school plantations weren’t properly managed, unfortunately, so they couldn’t be sold as millable timber. There were two in Moyston that had to be cleared years ago, with little or no profit to the groups that planted them. We’ve still got our avenue of honour, which I think was planted in the twenties. The aging trees will probably have to be replaced, which is a bit sad, but inevitable.

      Like

Leave a Reply

