Friday Poem: Tower Song

I wrote this poem in the middle of the night – another sleepless night! I actually got up, turned on lights and sat in the living room until it was all on paper, then went back to bed – and slept. Usually, I just stay in bed, despite all the advice I have read to get up and do something for a while. Maybe the experts know what they are talking about…

Well, anyway, here’s my poem.IMG_6671 (Large)

I lie awake at night
Alone in my tower
And plan what I want you to be:

So that one night, or one morning,
Or on some happy day,
You will appear, you will come to my window,
You will call out my name,
You will ask me to let down my hair;
And I will.

You will climb up to me,
You will come into my bower,
And we will be happy,
You and me as we are
Together, together alone.

DSCF9688 (Large)

I drew the scene as I imagined it, and even painted it. All that romantic thought needs some roses. My Hot Cocoa rose has been flowering prolifically this year (feed and water roses – they like it!). I don’t know what the other flower is, but the lime-green is a pleasing contrast for the roses.

IMG_6665 (Large)

The first photo is of Acacia paradoxa (Kangaroo Thorn), with the late sun illuminating the hairs on the pods – and the spiders nest amongst the thorns.

One thought on “Friday Poem: Tower Song

Leave a Reply

