Creativity: Art away from Home IV

Only another day or so before I get up bright and early and catch the bus to Albury, the train to Melbourne, another train to Ararat, to arrive back home 12 or 13 hours after leaving Canberra.

In the meantime, I’ve carved out a little space in my daughter’s new craftroom, IMG_6243 (Large)which is doing double duty as place-to-put-things-for-now room.

IMG_6244 (Large)

It does have built in storage – hurrah!- and I’ve unpacked some boxes of Zoe’s craft supplies and stacked it away. At least it LOOKS organised, even though Zoe doesn’t actually know where anything is yet! It’s amazing how possessions seem to expand as they emerge from boxes.Where was all this stuff before the move? I’m sure there was less…

IMG_6245 (Large)

Mostly I’ve been watching Juniper play and adapt to her new home, but I have had a little play with Inktense pencils and watercolour on paper which I wet/stained with the remains of my chai tea.IMG_6247 (Large)

First I scribbled in a flowery shape. The paper was still quite wet with tea, so the ink spread around to some extent.

IMG_6248 (Large)

That seemed wishy-washy,so I added watercolour in a similar pink, and then used a dark blue too give some definition. It’s certainly not my greatest work, not remotely considered, but a good exercise in “what if” – something that little kids do continually until we adults constrain them with rules about the “proper” way to do things!

I find the brush pen with it’s reservoir of water and the portable packs of watercolours are great for travel, or even to have handy at home for quick, small pieces. They are quite modestly priced, too, happily.

Leave a Reply

