Creativity: Art Away From Home

I’m going to be away from home for nearly three weeks, visiting my daughter, her partner, and now-2-year -old Juniper. Hopefully a change of scenery will give me some creative impetus as well as an opportunity to hang out with the family and play with Juni. So I’m figuring out what I can pack that will be versatile as heck and also not too bulky/heavy when it comes to the long trip home by coach and train…IMG_5912 (Large)

I’ll be taking some handmade books and pens and paints, with the intention of adding content, including the controversially titled “Make Art not Craft”. So far I’ve copied out dictionary definitions of “Art” and Craft”, and written a few paragraphs on the dichotomy (real or imagined) between the two). I’ll be looking for illuminating quotes and images to add.

 

 

 

I made this very tiny album last time I was in Canberra (with the option of boxes full of supplies), and I’ll take it back this time in hopes of finding some more (small)”happy” images to stick on the pages. Mostly the pictures are of peonies, but I’m not limiting it to the King of Flowers.

I’m also taking some yarn and a crochet hook, so I can make more leaves for the yarn bomb I’m making as part of the Public Art efforts of our tiny Moyston Arts Inc. The Primary school kids will be helping – more on that later!

8 thoughts on “Creativity: Art Away From Home

Leave a Reply

