Creativity: Making Mobiles

And now for something completely different (from the altered book I’ve been posting about for weeks).

Inspired by some odd earrings collected from the oppy (thrift store) where I volunteer one day a week, I made a mobile, dangling the earrings from pieces of florist wire.IMG_5483

Then I made another using bits and pieces from the collection on my work table – and another.IMG_5482

Then I made another one with some old earrings and an Indian bell that had belonged to my late sister, adding in a few beads and extra pieces.IMG_5484

I haven’t managed to get very good pictures (yet) as it’s a very dull day and mobiles move…However, I think these give some idea. They are all hanging together from an Ikea candelabra until I have a better idea of where to put them.

IMG_5477

I’ve used florist’s wire and some copper wire from electric wiring (picked up of the ground somewhere!) plus some of the thinner copper wire I collected from a broken TV on the roadside in Scarborough Beach WA years ago. I’ve chosen beads that fit the colours of the main pieces, and also used a couple of buttons.

IMG_5488

 

Believe it or not, those big metal blade-y things are a pair of earrings, never worn. The crystal heart dangling on a chain behind it swings freely on it’s wire and hits the metal piece with a pleasing tinkle.IMG_5490

Most pieces I’ve simply linked together with loops of wire, but I also used a few jump rings, which allow freer movement. The triangular earring came in a tangled box of assorted costume jewelry, all of it genuine vintage 80’s gorgeousness.

IMG_5487

 

Honestly, would you wear that? What happens when the wind blows!

 

2 thoughts on “Creativity: Making Mobiles

Leave a Reply

