Creativity: Escape XXVII

DSCF9444

I have come to the last few pages of my altered book, “Escape” – next week I’ll have to find something new to share! On this page, I simply crossed out most of the text with a medium-tip sharpie, and painted it out with watercolours. I’ve stuck on the frame from a sheet of postage stamps, then filled the spaces in various ways – redacting words from the original text in some of them, and stamps and a sticker for others.

I didn’t do this all at once, coming back and adding more from time to time. I generally work over several pages (at least) at any one time. This tends to unify the whole book, I think, since colours, stamps and styles of doodles etc are repeated through it.DSCF9445

I like what happens when a macro shot of a detail blows it up so much bigger than the original, and tiny details become visible.DSCF9446

This page was a simple matter of the Kikki-K sticker, lots of colour and a reminder of what I love to do – Create! Plus a butterfly, which, although I used black ink, has gained colour from the paint underneath.DSCF9447

This is the second last page of the book. Most of it is covered with a big yellow sticker. My late father-in-law loved garage sales, and buying all sorts of (potentially) useful things, and I think that’s where the multiple sheets of yellow stickers (various sizes) came from. The key – a jewelry charm – is held in place with a piece of wire. You can see the ends twisted and stuck down with tape next to “create” in the previous image. The music notes suggest joyful freedom to me.DSCF9448

Last of all, the inside back cover. Out of a  stack of maybe 15 pages, I cut an arch-shaped hole, working through several at a time, after which the whole stack was glued together, to create a niche. It so happened that the old novel had a character called “Kurt”, which I didn’t know when I bought it in a junk shop for it’s cover (50cents, if I remember lately). The name appears from an accidental tear beside the niche, so the last page went from there. The image glued into the niche is printed on a paper made from a mineral rather than tree pulp, which has a pleasing matte finish. I coloured it in with felt-tip pens. The arrangement of seven hearts, drawn in a continuous line and rainbow coloured, is a symbol I have been using for years for Peace (the rainbow) Love (the hearts) Empathy (the blood drops). I left the last sentence on the page, because it fit with the drawing of Kurt Cobain.DSCF9450

 

2 thoughts on “Creativity: Escape XXVII

Leave a Reply

