Creativity: Escape XXIV

DSCF9437 (Large)

I’m not sure where I cut this quote from, or who is being quoted, which is very remiss of me, but I glued it into my altered book, “Escape” because I liked what was said. It hides under a photo of a red poppy, printed on vellum and hinged with silvery duct tape. The translucence of the vellum allows the text on the page beneath to be vaguely visible.

DSCF9435 (Large)

 

I keep an eye out for interesting papers on which to print images as well as to use for making hand made books. Cheap shops sometimes have really good stuff, if you’re lucky and quick. I once bought 100% cotton rag copy paper in the Reject Shop, which photos print on beautifully. If only I’d known, I would have bought every pack they had…

DSCF9436 (Large)

Behind the flower is this wonderful quote –  I found it in a book of artworks by musicians, which I borrowed from a library. Work by Chris and Curt Kirkwood, the “brothers Meat” also featured. I wish it was mine…I knew a woman many years ago who was in the habit of “losing” (ie keeping) books she wanted from the library. She paid for the “lost” book – probably the original price, not the market value of out-of-print rarities. The thought of her dishonesty and sheer gall still amazes me, because she was an otherwise respectable school teacher. Surely the Librarians figured out her little scheme after a few “losses”!

Leave a Reply

