Weekly Photography Challenge: Descent

descent 1I wasn’t at all sure what I could find for this weeks Photography Challenge – I don’t think I’ve got many photos of “Descent” in my files, although I did think that if only I was in Melbourne I could go to Parliament Station, and take a photo down the horrendously long and steep escalators…But I wasn’t. So I didn’t. However, Bryan decided a day out was in order, and we went to Hall’s Gap in the Grampians National Park on Sunday, and I found some decent descents along a walking track. The photo above shows the long scar down a steep hillside resulting from extremely heavy rain in the area some years ago – water and rocks descended with great force.

The town was packed with visitors, thanks to Cup Day’s long weekend, but the visitor centre at Brambuk, where we had lunch at the cafe, was quieter.

From there, we set off around a walking track, which went down to the creek, then up and around through bushland, and then down and across the creek again before looping back to the carpark. It’s an easy walk, and we enjoyed spotting wildflowers in bloom and seeing some birds, even though there was nothing new or unusual to be found. Except this….IMG657 (Medium)

Leave a Reply

