Weekly Photography Challenge: Cover Art/Creativity

I am merging my WPC and Creativity posts this week due to the serendipity of the challenge and because it’s a busy week. The theme of Cover Art is right up my street! The name of my blog comes from the Sukie’s Original Covers I am showing you today. I had to hunt for them, and now that I have, I really should do more work on the idea – I have the technology now that was lacking in 2000 when I made these.covers 1

Inspired by the photography in the inlay book of the Pixies “Doolittle”, and having a few empty CD cases available, I set out to make inlay books of my own, with some of my photos as cover art. Back then I had an SLR film camera and an excellent macro lens. Krystina liked to develop my photos, because they were always different (no smiling party people – just flowers, beads, bugs…etc).

The photos were cropped with a pair of scissors (or a craft knife), and the spare bit was adhered to the back of the inlay book, the cover of which I made from beautiful paper.covers 4

The booklets have not been finished (yet), but I had chosen poems for each one and written most of them on loose leaves cut to size. Some are typed and printed off, some hand-written. Now I have more sophisticated software, a scanner and a guillotine, so I will be able to do them ‘properly’.covers 5

There are more photos on the backs of the cases, and also under the tray where the CD would go. covers 6

The inlay booklets removed from the smudgy old cases. The image on the Transformations cover is of rose petals – Fragrant Cloud – immersed in white vinegar to make it gloriously coloured and fragrant, for culinary use.

The white lily grows in my garden, but the coloured one would have been bought. I would buy bouquets (usually cut-price!) and take pictures of the flowers both fresh and fallen.covers 7

These (unfinished) artworks were branded Sukie’s Original Covers, “Sukie” coming from “Sue K” – although my mother remembers a relative calling me Sukie as a child. Over time, it became “Sukie’s Original, and my brand for all the things I make, and the name of my blog.

I never made a decision about putting an actual CD in these covers, but now I think I’d make a mix that I felt fitted in with the theme of each book of poems. Mark Lanegan would probably be on there, and Sonic Youth, Leonard Cohen, J Mascis, Pixies, Gyuto Monks, Antony and the Johnsons…I could spend years refining my choices…I like all kinds of music…

Leave a Reply

