Weekly Photography Challenge: Endurance

Another challenge with vast possibilities! It had been in the back of my mind since reading the email, and all I was thinking was Endurance! so many options!

There’s a tray of buttons on my desk, some of them very old. They have endured for a long time, holding things together for someone, before being cut off and saved. They ended up in the op shop/thrift store where I volunteer, so of course they then ended up in my house… buttons 4 Some of them are tough, hard wearing ordinary plastic, some metal and some pearl shell, and a handful of  really lovely and very old glass ones.

 

I have a large stash of buttons now, as I use them on things I make – cushion covers, small purses, cuffs – and sometimes it takes a long time to find just the right button. Finding the right button is an act of endurance in itself, entailing a careful search through jars, tubes and trays for the one that is perfect…How wonderful are those deer buttons? They seem to be made from cut glass, and they’ll need a very special project to embellish.

Leave a Reply

