Friday Poem: Invocation

This poem, or prayer, is based – very loosely – on a meditation for cultivating compassion, which is in Sogyal Rinpoche’s Tibetan Book of Living and Dying, along with generous dashes of other spiritual ideas. Maybe you’ll recognise a few, depending on your reading habits! Or maybe you’ll recognise existential angst…bush

Oh, Little Master,
as representative of all the Buddhas,
as one facet of the one Mind,
Ground of my Being,
I ask of you,
burn out my obscurations.

Make me pure and free,
cast off the yoke of my stubborn Sense of Duty;
Little Master, let me be one with you,
a gleam in the flame of pure being.

Little Master,
as far as it is possible for me here,
in these circumstances which I suppose I must have chosen for myself,
for the lessons I wanted to learn,
and the course I wanted to complete,
as much as I can,
help me to be true.
True to myself,
my true self,
true to you, Little Master,
who have been with me always and will always be with me,
True to my purpose in being here.

Help me to break free,
to wake up in God’s wide world;
don’t let me sleep in a prison.

This is a lot to ask,
Little Master,
because I seem to love my chains,
because they are so familiar.

But you are familiar too,
and you know the whole story,
whilst I only look through
a crack in the door.

You are always behind me
and beside me.
Make me one with you.
set me free.

bush track

These photos were taken in ‘the bush’ near Chilton in Victoria. I think it’s called the Honey-eater picnic ground. We called in there on our way to Canberra to visit for Juniper’s first birthday, and didn’t have much time to spend there. The only  honey-eaters we saw were wattle birds, which are notoriously territorial and chase most other birds away – if they are present, you can be fairly sure you won’t see much else by way of bird life! We did find three species of orchids, though. Here’s one of them – Pterostylis curta, in a beautiful big colony alongside the track.bush orchids

Leave a Reply

