Friday Poem: Spinney

I decided to reach deep into my back-catalogue for a poem this week, and chose one fairly randomly. Often when I pick an oldie I look for something written around the same time of year, so that it is seasonally appropriate (for southern Australia, anyway), but that doesn’t apply to  this one …a spinney 2

Is there a spinney
That overlooks the sea?
A sacred grove
Where people rarely go:
Is there a pure spring
That rises from the earth?
Are there wild flowers
Scattered in the grass?

Is there a spinney
That overlooks the sea?
A sacred grove
Where people rarely go;
Where the leaves flicker
Tossed by the gentle breeze,
And the songs of birds
Float about the trees?

Is there a spinney
That overlooks the sea?
And if I find it,
Will you meet me there?

 

a spinney

I’m a little hazy on my inspiration for this because it’s about 18 years old, but I’m fairly sure I was reading something on Ancient Greece, hence the sacred grove. Once more I have chosen pictures from The Trip of a Lifetime. Technically, I think that’s Puget Sound, seen from Discovery Park in Seattle, and the path through the birch trees is in Seattle’s Sculpture Park.a spinney 1

One thought on “Friday Poem: Spinney

Leave a Reply

