Creativity: It’s what You Make It

I had a friend who was always making things, and had a house (and shed) full of materials for making things, and who regularly declared that she was not at all creative. Nothing I or anyone else could say would shake her conviction that because she was German and used patterns, she was not and never could be creative. Yet everything she made, despite the offending pattern, was quite obviously her work and no-one else’s. Her home was full of unusual and beautiful handmade objects, including a lizard made in a class with Mirka Mora many years ago. She told me more than once that Mirka had admired her work, but still could not acknowledge her own creativity, which I think is an enormous shame.

Whatever we make, we are creating that thing, whether it is a quilt, a cup cake or a garden bed. Creativity is part of being human, and can be a great source of joy for ourselves and those around us.

Recently, I have been making an Eye-spy quilt for my grand daughter, who turns one next month. The point is to have lots of pictures of things on the blocks, and half the fun is collecting bits of suitable prints. I had a pattern, but I didn’t follow it very closely – but doing so would have saved me a lot of bother!

“Creativity is the ability of a person to respond to visual and other sensory stimuli in an original way, and then share this response with passion, individuality and spirit.’

Gerald Brommer.

My friend was most definitely an original, and Juniper’s quilt is too, even if I did use a pattern!

Leave a Reply

