Friday Poem: Love is a Verb, and I Miss You

I’m not sure why I wrote this just now – it’s not an anniversary or anything. Maybe it’s the old photos I came across recently.Annette and

Sometimes loving you seems pointless
Because
Love is a hug when times are tough;
A cup of tea in the afternoon;
A gift that says “I thought of you”;
A secret smile in a crowded room.

But I cannot hug you-
Your shoulders are dust;
You cannot drink
The tea I brew;
The thought of the gifts
I cannot give you
Are a secret tear
In an empty room.

Yet whoever I hug, I’m hugging for you;
The cup I share I have shared for you;
You are my gift, I give love for you –
And a secret smile in an empty room.a family trip

The blonde girl in these photos, taken over forty years ago, is my little sister, Merrilyn. The first photo was taken during a picnic at Hanging Rock, which later became famous (or infamous) thanks to the film, Picnic At Hanging Rock.  The pic above shows an encounter with an emu when we were on a family holiday. The lad in the sweater is our brother, Alan, the other girl, a passing stranger.Alan and Merrilyn

In this shot, which must be older, Alan is perched in a sapling, and Merrilyn rides her tractor in the background. You might notice that our front garden and it’s decor were a little bit unusual! Behind Merrilyn is a large cast-iron English ship’s cannon, which dad rescued from being melted down for scrap. It’s still there, but Merrilyn died in early 1992, aged 27.

Leave a Reply

