Weekly Photography Challenge: Letters

This weeks challenge theme is “letters”, and I have lots of those! letters

As an artist with a love of text, and a writer with a love of art supplies, I naturally have a weakness for sets of alphabet stamps, and if they are cheap and cheerful ones for kids, like these colourful foam ones- I don’t mind at all.

letters 3

The “type -type alphabet in the box came from an art supply store in Portland, Oregon. I was very, very restrained in there – nothing like having to put everything in a suitcase and carry it for making one think twice about purchases! The other two are “cheap shop” bargains, and every bit as useful as the dearer sort!

letters 4 letters 5

 

The tissue paper under the box is from a burrito – I kept it because I really liked the way the text is laid out, and it had to be useful for something – like this post, for instance!

letters 2

I also have a little drawer, in which are stored appealing sentences from some of the old books I’ve altered. I keep them with vague intentions of one day using them to create the text of a hand-made book. There’s always something on the back-burner, waiting for its moment to arrive!

4 thoughts on “Weekly Photography Challenge: Letters

  1. I love your boxes of letters – I come from an old print background – I was an Art Director for an Educational Publishing Company for many years, way back when. Letters and kerning, lines and baseline space – are never as easy as they appear. It takes a masterful eye to make the letters look comfortable next to one another – that’s why I was always very happy to have a talented group of designers who did this much better than I.
    I do have an old typesetter’s job box that I’ve painted and placed plastic animals (from when my kids were small) into with a different background for each.
    You take gorgeous and interesting photos. Great blog 🙂
    AnnMarie

    Like

    • Thank you! I’ve always loved taking “odd’ photos. Back in the days of film processing, the lady in the photography store loved doing my films, because there were hardly ever any people in my photos! Bugs, beads, flowers, but no happy snaps. The beauty of the blog is that now I have an excuse…

      Like

Leave a Reply

