Creativity: Artist Scrapbook 4

as11

 

Scrapbooking is all about putting odd scraps together on a page in a way that is pleasing to the eye. This page features Japanese art, a dragon by one of my kids, a review and some news – an odd mixture, but it works, because the dragons headgear echoes that of the Japanese lady, and his wings resemble the draperies on the cover of “In Your Honour”. There is also a hand-lettered quote from a poem by Lord Byron –

Between two worlds life hovers like a star,
Twixt night and morn, upon the horizon’s verge.
How little do we know that which we are!
How less what we may be!as12

There are different sized pages scattered through the book, added in along the way… This one has been through the printer after me playing around with photo editing (very basic!). All sorts of slightly failed and Not Quite Right projects can have a new life in collages. Anything you really hate can be painted/scribbled over and something fresh put on top. That’s what glue is for! Its playtime! The little doop-stick packet retains the perfume of the sticks, so it makes the book smell nice, and I like the graphics.as13

On the reverse of the under-sized page, a photo of me at 6 is printed on card, and attached with a pretty blue safety pin. The horoscope asserts that I have an amazing ability to put up with things I don’t particularly like… I wouldn’t have cut it out if it wasn’t true. Going to the Course For Women was a life-changer for me, and spending a couple of nights in  a motel on my lonesome in a strange town in order to attend the course was an absolute joy…I’m an Introvert, so I like that kind of thing! There’s not much embellishment on this page, just a bit of blue pencil, and a piece of white tissue wrapping paper pasted under the scraps. If I were to revisit it, I would add more colour, and perhaps stamp over part of it, working the separate pieces into more of a whole.

Leave a Reply

