Friday Poem: Ambitions

Sort of a New Years resolution poem…
bush track

Oh, I would dance on mountain tops
Drink from streams of living water
Tickle trout in deep pools
Where no one goes
And ask them how they feel.

I would run beside the ocean
Feed upon the sweets of life
Call down birds with empty hands
And when they come to me
Ask them what it means to fly.

I would sleep beside the river
picnic on milk and honey on the bank
And when the day is over
And the sun is setting
Ask anyone I see, what did it mean?

eveningPhotos are from a walk I took with my two younger sons on Christmas Eve…A long, warm, golden evening, much nicer than sitting inside listening to carols. Although we did put the Weezer Christmas album on later, while we were playing Scrabble.

2 thoughts on “Friday Poem: Ambitions

  1. Such a beautiful poem. The photo reminded me a my childhood home in the foothills of California where the trees are much like your down under. I love the idea of ticklin trout…the only thing is, they will tickle you back!

    Like

    • I read somewhere years ago about ‘tickling’ for trout, where the fisher lay on the bank of a deep pool, hand in water, and waited for the trout. It was a slow and deceptively gentle way of catching dinner, but I like the idea of communing with the fish rather than eating it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

