Daily Prompt: Playtime

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The daily prompt for today is “play” – what does play mean to you, what do you do? My play this week has been making pairs of  little over-alls (which are sometimes called ‘playsuits ‘) for Juniper. It’s been hot here in Perth, so any more than a nappy/diaper and a whisp of cotton is too much for a small baby. They should fit her for another month or so…

Last year, I had a lot of fun playtime making this beaded goddess – something that had a long, long lead up time while I collected the necessary pieces. Making it was a lot of fun, and photographing it was more playtime again. I wanted an image to put on a Christmas card, and figuring out how and where to get what I wanted occupied the best part of a day (off and on).

Children’s play is all about figuring out how things work – physically and socially – and no matter how trivial it seems to us, it is vital for their development and their understanding of the world. That’s why I’m passionate about not fencing growing minds in with baseless gender stereotypes. I don’t want my granddaughter (or yours, for that matter) to believe at age four that girls are limited to pink shoes and cupcakes (and the boys can’t share them), any more than I want little boys to get the idea that only mummies have what it takes to care for children. And I want grown-ups to feel free to play as pointlessly and  significantly as children.Juniper

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/11/23/daily-prompt-play/

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Playtime

  1. Pingback: Playtime… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  2. Pingback: The World Is My Playground | The Jittery Goat

Leave a Reply

