Daily Prompt: Expression

 

Expression, self-expression, is obviously highly personal. Sometimes photography is all about revealing what is there, sharing the bare truth of it with someone else, documenting, recording for future reference…Photography can also be a means of artistic expression, revealing, perhaps, something that isn’t ‘there’, a glimpse of the artists inner life. I remember when I bought a copy of the Pixies’ Dolittle being incredibly excited about Simon Larbalestier’s photos in the inlay book. When I’m taking photos as a means of expression, I don’t like to be too obvious. The question “What is that ?” annoys me – I want the viewer to think Wow! Look at that! , not try to identify an object…To misquote Kurt Cobain, I do mean to be really cryptic or mysterious at times – I think that pictures that are different and weird and spacey are interesting, and that’s the way I like art (and music) – all kinds of expression, really.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/10/24/daily-prompt-expression/

Leave a Reply

