Three More Quotes

I like to read books...“If you want your children to be intelligent, read them fairy tales.”

Albert Einstein

“If you only read books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking.”

Haruki Murakumi

“The book to read is not the one that thinks for you, but the one that makes you think.”

Harper Lee

I read widely, deeply, broadly, always more than one book at a time. There is always a pile beside the bed, and another by my favourite armchair. There are notebooks to hand as well, ready for me to jot down a pithy or thought provoking quote. Usually I take note of book and page, but at times, in a hurry, I have reduced the book title to an acronym, and, months later, I have no idea where the quote came from…don’t do that if you plan to refer back or to acknowledge the source…

My husband prefers books with maps – travel guides – and can’t understand my omnivorous tastes. I offered him  “Thinking, Fast and Slow” (a book that ‘everyone else’ is reading…or buying, anyway…) to read on the plane on his way home, and it just seemed to annoy him. Admittedly all that stuff about statistics is heavy going, but there are juicy bits as well… He wants to know what I have learned from it -” read it yourself” would be the best answer! But balance your diet with poetry, fairy tales, biography, botany, and don’t neglect your picture books and magazines…notebook - go for it!

I left my Quote Notebooks at home in Victoria – today’s quotes come to you courtesy of The Bodhi Tree Bookstore Cafe, which currently has a wall decorated with book-related quotes. I enjoyed a coffee there yesterday, and had my trusty notebook in my bag…

One thought on “Three More Quotes

Leave a Reply

