Sleepers, Awake!

“Awake! awake O sleeper in the land of shadows,
wake! expand!
I am in you and you in me, mutual in love…
Fibres of love from man to man (sic)…
Lo! We are one.”

William Blakesleeper

 

I’ve been spending a lot of time lately holding my days-old grand daughter, watching her sleep, watching her waking up. She stretches and squirms a bit, opens one eye, just a slit, and closes it again, goes quiet, squirms and stretches some more. If she’s windy, there’s a grimaces that promises the smile that will appear in 4 – 5 weeks time. Her little mouth puckers, her tongue comes out; she’s getting hungry, but she’s still not really awake.

Finally, both eyes are open, she’s ready to be fed, and if it doesn’t happen, her face screws up and she lets out a wail of protest. All babies are much the same…

This morning, I woke up with a stretch and a squirm. I opened one eye, changed my mind, dozed off again. It was the demands of my bladder, not my stomach, that forced me out of bed. No-one will bring me breakfast, but I won’t cry, I’ll get it myself. A lot changes as we get older and learn to communicate and do things for ourselves – but the waking-up process seems to stay the same!

Leave a Reply

