Ave Porca!

I’m aware that flying pigs can have a negative connotation (as in the expression “if pigs could fly, we’d all carry umbrellas”), but to me, the winged porcine is a symbol of infinite possibilities, and thus, of hope for better things. Such as peace on earth, all the time, not just at Christmas, love for all of our neighbours, even the ones we don’t like, and empathy and compassion for all beings, not just the cute ones. This little poem, therefore, featured in my Christmas card one year.

Slightly controversial Christmas card image!

Ave Porca!

I saw this night

a flight of pigs,

That flew across the moon.

I knew right then

That better times

Must be coming soon.

Through my rosy spectacles

The moon looked somewhat purple,

And shooting stars

Abundant fell;

And fairy dust

I found as well,

And by these omens I can tell

that better times

Are coming!

I’m still waiting; dominator culture still dominates around much of the world, and yet, every day, very quietly, love enters the world in unlikely ways, and there is still hope for better times all round. Did you know that economic inequality is bad for the health of the haves as well as the have-nots?  Who could have guessed. But there are scientists who care enough to make the studies and publish the results. Western countries spend enough on their military sectors to feed and educate the world’s children. Who cares enough to change that one? I now await the winged pigs, and the necessary changes. Ave porca!

Leave a Reply

